Euro Supply Chain

by Christiane PERRUCHOT - Traces Ecrites Interview with Jean-Marc Rohlmann, President of ACUTA (Association des Chargeurs et Utilisateurs de Transport en Alsace)

Can you present your structure?
For 42 years, ACUTA has been bringing together shippers (industrialists, large businesses) who are involved in downstream freight - from the factory to the customer - and upstream of the production process. 70% of the members are shippers, 30% are logistics service providers (logisticians, maritime associations, specialized lawyers, etc.) All modes of transport are concerned: road, rail, sea, river. Its role is to defend the interests of its members, of which there are about a hundred, and to represent them before regional and national authorities. ACUTA has a recognized legitimacy in this field. It is a member of the Observatoire Régional Transports et Logistique (ORT) Grand Est, a forum for exchange with State administrations and local authorities, and a member of the prefect's economic unit. Our organization is also the regional "correspondent" of the AUTF (Association des Utilisateurs de Transport de Fret) of which it is one of the members of the board of directors. Thus, it brings to Paris the specific problems of the region. In addition to its representative function, ACUTA is also a place for information and reflection. Monthly round tables, which are currently transformed into fortnightly video meetings due to the health crisis, allow members to learn from each other's experience on current issues and longer-term reflections on the evolution of their professions.

Why do you support the Euro Supply Chain exhibition?
There was no professional event of transport and logistics in the Grand Est. It will be a great showcase for our trades. The exhibition stands of the companies and the conferences organized at our initiative, will bring to the regional actors solutions facing the evolution of the logistics which accelerated with the pandemic. This local exhibition should also be an opening towards national, cross-border and international issues.

What changes are taking place in logistics?
Our businesses are changing enormously, and the pandemic has accelerated this trend. We had to adapt to the explosion of B-to-C online orders and to the difficulties of supplying raw materials. Rebounding today means re-greening our businesses. The decarbonization of logistics is one of the central concerns of ACUTA, which supports companies in reducing their energy impact through two Ademe programs, EVE (Engagements Volontaires pour l'Environnement) and Fret 21, which will be presented at the Euro Supply Chain exhibition. CSR is a daily challenge for companies, which is reflected in their purchasing policy, the environmental quality of buildings, the organization of last mile logistics, etc. The supply chain is also faced with a need for increasingly efficient digitalization to gain in agility: reduce delivery times, increase customer satisfaction, optimize routes. The solutions? Prepare the robotization of warehouses to, for example, reduce certain duplicated tasks at the shipper and carrier, pool volumes, combine all modes of transport. To follow this evolution, companies have important aids and they must be aware that the return on investment in the medium term is favorable. 

What is your position on a local but strategic issue, the ecotax on heavy goods vehicles?
We are opposed to any regional tax that puts Alsatian entrepreneurs at a disadvantage compared to those in other regions of France, and we are in a position of dialogue with the European Collectivity of Alsace, knowing that the ecotax is not yet applicable even if the law is passed. We can also ask ourselves the question of the long-term effectiveness of this tax, which is intended in part to finance infrastructures when the conversion of propulsion energies will have become more widespread.

Euro Supply Chain

par Christiane PERRUCHOT – Traces Ecrites Interview de Jean-Marc Rohlmann, président de l’ACUTA (Association des Chargeurs et Utilisateurs de Transport en Alsace)

Pouvez-vous présenter votre structure ? 
Depuis 42 ans, l’ACUTA réunit des chargeurs (industriels, grands commerces) qui font du fret aval – de l’usine au client –, et en amont du processus de production. 70% des membres sont des chargeurs, 30% des prestataires logistiques (logisticiens, associations maritimes, avocats spécialisés etc.) Tous les modes de transports sont concernés : route, fer, maritime, fluvial. Son rôle est de défendre les intérêts de ses membres, au nombre d’une centaine, et de les représenter auprès de instances régionales et nationales. L’ACUTA a une légitimité reconnue en la matière. Elle est membre de l’Observatoire Régional Transports et Logistique (ORT) Grand Est, lieu d’échange avec les administrations de l’État et les collectivités territoriale et membre de la cellule économique du préfet. Notre organisme est aussi le « correspondant » régional de l’AUTF (Association des Utilisateurs de Transport de Fret) dont il est l’un des membres du conseil d’administration. Ainsi il porte à Paris les problèmes spécifiques à la région. En plus de sa fonction représentative, l’ACUTA est aussi un lieu d’information et de réflexion. Des tables rondes mensuelles transformées en ce moment, à cause de la crise sanitaire, en réunions en visio tous les 15 jours, permet aux membres de se nourrir de l’expérience des autres sur des sujets d’actualité et des réflexions à plus long terme concernant l’évolution de leurs métiers. 

Pourquoi soutenez-vous le salon Euro Supply Chain ? 
Il n’existait pas d’événement professionnel du transport et de la logistique en Grand Est. Ce sera une belle vitrine pour nos métiers. Les stands d’exposition des entreprises et des conférences organisées à notre initiative, apporteront aux acteurs régionaux des solutions face à l’évolution de la logistique qui s’est accélérée avec la pandémie. Salon de proximité, il devra être aussi une ouverture vers les problématiques nationales, transfrontalières et internationales. 

Quelles évolutions connait la logistique ? 
Nos métiers évoluent énormément et la pandémie a accéléré le mouvement. Il a fallu s’adapter face à l’explosion des commandes en ligne B to C et aux difficultés d’approvisionnement des matières premières. Rebondir aujourd’hui signifie reverdir nos métiers. La décarbonisation de la logistique est une des préoccupations centrales de l’ACUTA qui accompagne les entreprises dans la réduction de leur impact énergétique à travers deux programmes de l’Ademe, EVE (Engagements Volontaires pour l’Environnement) et Fret 21 qui seront d’ailleurs présentés au salon Euro Supply Chain. La RSE est un défi quotidien des entreprises qui se traduit à travers la politique d’achats, la qualité environnementale des bâtiments, l’organisation de la logistique du dernier kilomètre etc. La chaîne logistique se trouve aussi face à une nécessité de digitalisation de plus en plus performante pour gagner en agilité : réduire les délais de livraison, accroître la satisfaction des clients, optimiser les tournées. Les solutions ? Préparer la robotisation des entrepôts pour par exemple, réduire certaines tâches doublées chez le chargeur et le transporteur, mutualiser les volumes, combiner tous les modes de transports. Pour suivre cette évolution, les entreprises disposent d’aides importantes et elles doivent être conscientes que le retour sur investissement à moyen terme est favorable.

Quelle est votre position sur un sujet local mais stratégique, l’écotaxe poids-lourds ?
Opposés à toute taxe régionale qui défavorise les entrepreneurs alsaciens par rapport à ceux des autres régions de France, nous sommes sur une position de dialogue avec la Collectivité Européenne d’Alsace, sachant que l’écotaxe n’est pas encore applicable même si la loi est votée. On peut aussi se poser la question de l’efficacité à terme de cette taxe, destinée en partie à financer les infrastructures lorsque la conversion des énergies de propulsion aura pris de l’ampleur.