Euro Supply Chain 2023

Interview with Nadège Eich, Director of the Aftral training center in Mulhouse "The transport and logistics industry has a huge need for personnel"

Can you introduce Aftral?


Aftral is an association created 60 years ago by the National Federation of Transporters in association with regional federations, which has a network of 150 training centers. In Alsace, there are two, in Mulhouse and Strasbourg. It offers a diploma program in continuing education and initial training in the transport and logistics professions. In continuing education, our offer allows employees to upgrade their skills, particularly in terms of regulations. In initial training, we welcome young people, jobseekers and employees undergoing retraining. Two types of training are available: traditional and alternating courses, to prepare for several diplomas, from CAP to Bac + 2. We also welcome people within the framework of the personal training account. A vocational training certificate (CAP) trains order preparation operators and road and public transport drivers. At the baccalaureate + 2 level, they are senior technicians in logistics operations as well as team leaders after completing a BTS in transport management and associated logistics. Strasbourg offers training courses up to Bac + 5 leading to positions as purchasing managers. We are currently preparing for the start of the new school year in September and are looking for work-study students. About ten companies are already ready to take on work-study students with a 2-year degree. 

 If you had to draw up an inventory of the supply chain in Alsace, what would it be? 

 For the past 4-5 years, the supply chain has developed strongly thanks to e-commerce. Alsace has been able to position itself to meet the demand with five to ten large platforms in the Bas-Rhin. The diversity of its industry plays in its favor as well as its geographical location and its good connection with the rest of Europe. Regional distribution logistics is strongly present, as it benefits in particular from Strasbourg's metropolitan functions. 

Why do you support Euro Supply Chain? 

The transport and logistics actors have a huge need for personnel. Some profiles have a high "turn over" such as forklift drivers and order pickers, so employers are constantly looking for candidates. Moreover, the explosion of e-commerce since the health crisis has led to job creation. However, some professions are not very attractive, in particular truck drivers. Our presence at the Euro Supply Chain exhibition is essential because Aftral is the leading organization in transport and logistics training. It will help us to renew contact with our customers, after the distance we have taken over the last two years. It will also enable the general public, which is approached by partner organisations such as Pôle Emploi and integration structures, to form an immediate opinion on the professions. Thanks to a driving simulator, visitors will be able to spend their first hours on the road in a truck!

What are the prospects for your business in 2022?

 In September, the Mulhouse training center will be given a second site in Rixheim because our current premises in Sauheim are becoming cramped. It will allow us to develop a training activity for "dry" permits that we were not doing before. We are also going to continue our awareness-raising activities in secondary schools, high schools and local missions... to prepare the future.

Euro Supply Chain

Interview de Nadège Eich, directrice du centre de formation Aftral de Mulhouse "Les acteurs du transport et de la logistique ont un énorme besoin de personnel"

Pouvez-vous présenter l’Aftral ?


L’Aftral est une association créée il y a déjà 60 ans par la Fédération nationale des transporteurs en association avec les fédérations régionales, qui dispose d’un réseau de 150 centres de formation. En Alsace, il y a en deux, à Mulhouse et à Strasbourg. Elle propose une offre diplômante en formation continue, et en formation initiale dans les métiers des transports et de la logistique. En formation continue, notre offre permet aux salariés de faire toutes les remises à niveau en particulier réglementaires. En formation initiale, nous accueillons des jeunes, des demandeurs d’emploi et des salariés en reconversion. Deux statuts sont possibles : classique et en alternance, pour préparer plusieurs diplômes, du CAP à Bac + 2. Nous accueillons également des personnes dans le cadre du compte personnel de formation. Un CAP forme des opérateurs en préparation de commande et des conducteurs routiers et de transports en commun. Au niveau bac + 2, ce sont des techniciens supérieurs en exploitation logistique ainsi que, à l’issue d’un BTS Gestion des transports et logistique associée, des chefs d’équipe. Strasbourg propose des formations jusqu’à bac + 5 qui conduisent à des postes de responsable des achats. Nos sommes aujourd’hui en pleine préparation de la rentrée de septembre et sommes à la recherche d’alternants. Une dizaine d’entreprises est déjà prête à accueillir des alternants en bac + 2. 

Si vous deviez faire un état des lieux de la supply chain sur le territoire alsacien, quel serait-il ? 

Depuis 4-5 ans, la chaîne logistique s’est fortement développée grâce au e-commerce. L’Alsace a su se positionner pour répondre à la demande avec cinq à dix grosses plateformes dans le Bas-Rhin. La diversité de son industrie joue en sa faveur ainsi que sa situation géographique et sa bonne connexion avec le reste de l’Europe. La logistique de distribution régionale est fortement présente, car elle bénéficie en particulier des fonctions métropolitaines de Strasbourg.

Pour quelles raisons soutenez-vous Euro Supply Chain ?

Les acteurs du transport et de la logistique ont un énorme besoin de personnel. Certains profils connaissent un important « turn over » comme les caristes et les préparateurs de commande si bien que les employeurs sont en recherche continue de candidats. De plus, l’explosion du e-commerce depuis la crise sanitaire induit des créations d’emploi. Or certains métiers attirent peu, en particulier les conducteurs routiers. Notre présence au salon Euro Supply Chain est incontournable car l’Aftral est l’organisme leader dans les formations du transport et de la logistique. Elle va aider à renouer le contact avec nos clients, après les distances prises ces deux dernières années. Et permettre au grand public, que sollicite des organismes partenaires comme Pôle Emploi et les structures d’insertion, de se faire tout de suite une opinion sur les métiers. Grâce à un simulateur de conduite, le visiteur va pouvoir faire ses premières heures de route dans un camion !

Pour 2022, quelles sont les perspectives pour votre activité ? 

En septembre, le centre de formation de Mulhouse va bénéficier d’un second site à Rixheim car nos locaux actuels de Sauheim deviennent étroits. Il va permettre de développer une activité de formation au permis « sec » que nous ne pratiquions pas. Nous allons par ailleurs poursuivre nos actions de sensibilisation dans les collèges, les lycées et les missions locales… pour préparer l’avenir.